Notification about cookies

This website uses a limited number of cookies to facilitate browsing. For more information (including how to opt-out of a consent already given), please take a look at our Cookies Policy. By clicking the "I Agree" button or by continuing to use this website (including closing this message), you acknowledge that you have read and agree to our use of cookies as outlined in our Cookies Policy .
I agree

Discover Burgas

“Petko Zadgorski” Gallery

“Petko Zadgorski” Art Gallery is one of the oldest galleries in the country. It’s hosted in the building of a specially reorganised synagogue. The building is an extraordinary architectural monument, built in the beginning of the previous century, by the design of the Italian architect Ricardo Toscani. The gallery is named after the great Burgas artist and sculptor Petko Zadgorski (1902-1974) who was the first chairman of the Bulgarian Artist Company, founded in the 1960’s. The gallery stock consists of 2000 fine arts, sculpture and graphic works of art. Some of the exhibits belonging to the Burgas Art Gallery include works of Ivan Markvichka, Bencho Obreshkov, Tzeno Todorov, Nikola Marinov, Zlatyu Boyadzhiev, Vladimir Dimitrov – The Master, Dimitar Gyudzhenov, Iliya Petrov, Stoyan Venev, Mara Tzoncheva, Asen Vasilev, Dechko Uzunov, Vasil Stoilov, Svetlin Rusev, Vladimir Goev, Georgi Bozhilov, Dimitar Kirov, Atanas Yuranov, Encho Pironkov, Yoan Leviev. These are some of the Burgas artists, showcased in the gallery, from the beginning of the century until now: Gencho Mitev, Todor Karasimeonov, Yani Hristopulis, Pavel Valkov, Panyot Panayotov, Georgi Baev, Stoyan Tsanev, Violeta MAslarova, Damyan Zaberski, Nenko Tokmakchiev, Kiril Simeonov, Rayna Racheva, Bozhidar Kalachev, Zhivko Ivanov, Ivan Bahchevanov, Krasimir Zinin, Svetozar Benchev, etc. There is a special accent on maritime paintings. “Petko Zadgorski” Gallery also hosts valuable icons from around the Strandzha area, created between 15th and 20th centuries. The collection includes the works of icon-painters Zahary Zograph, Dimitar Zograph, Yoan Zograph of Ahtopol, Sokrat Georgiev of Sozopol, Todor Zograph of Hios, and Nikola Zograph of Odrin.